Self-identity searching?

29 11 2007

I’ve just been reading some books about identity on the internet and came across an article about personal websites/blogs. 

It discussed that some people write them to discover who they are and to receive recognition from others about their discoveries. This got me thinking about how I use a blog. Personally, I find that I express myself in a fuller explanation when writing on here. I don’t have a friend who I could speak to like this, probably because they wouldn’t be willing to listen to my babblings. So why do I feel the need to ramble on here? What do I get out of it?

Quite a lot actually. I like how this space allows me to reaffirm my thinking and I like how I can do it without anyone judging me as a pompous arse. I have just said to myself that I would love to find someone to have these types of conversations with, but I’m not sure that’s true, I think I’d feel uncomfortable talking to someone else like this.I’ll be the first to strike the final blow into Facebook when, hopefully, it dies because I hate the way it stops people from actually interacting with people in a face-to-face situation. However, is what i’m doing on here any different?

Maybe I need to re-evaluate my ideas…

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

