Massively unimpressed by the new macbook range!

15 10 2008

Hi all,

I’m sure most of you by now have seen the new offerings from Apple with their macbook range. However, can I just say I really do not like them!

I was very much against the macbook air when it first came out, noticing that not only was it hugely expensive for the crap specs offered but it also looked pretty cheap, in my opinion.

This new range of macbooks and pro’s sadly have followed that trend and while a lot of apple’s hype has been around this single piece of Aluminium, I really don’t like the look of it. The overly rounded edges in my opinion make the whole thing look really plasticy and poor.

The main thing that has annoyed me, and is getting more annoying the more I think about it, is that the macbook and the macbook pro look exactly the same! I really liked the fact that they were different looking before meaning that you instantly knew if it was a macbook or a pro thus justifying the different names. They may as well get rid of the macbook pro range and just release a 13″, 15″ and 17″ macbook with varying specs.

Also, the spec upgrade really isn’t that great, bearing in mind the price has gone up massively! I was secretly thinking that if I could find a buyer for my year old macbook pro I would consider upgrading to the new macbook pro just because i’m a bit of a tech geek and I like to have the latest things. However, I would have to put at least a £1000 toward it after that sale because the price is huge.

Gladly though, I really do not want one of these and can happily carry on using my lush macbook pro. Maybe I’ll just upgrade my ram instead!

In my opinion I think it’s a very poor move from apple, although taking into consideration all of the mentions they have been getting today and yesterday it looks like they’ll sell well.

What do you guys think?

Let me know your opinions and if you think you’ll buy one…

Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2008
Timothy

I completely agree… i was dreading the new ones coming out as i didnt want anything to be better than mine but i can happily say that im ok with what they have produced and would not be buying one myself…

the upgrades are across the board on the processing bus speed and the ddr3 memory and the tech graphics cards and the 7200 rpm drive…

The only thing that is better is the hard drive really as the other specks wont or at least i dont think boost it all that fast.. ive got the 15 inch 2.5ghz 250gb 5400 rpm with 4gb mem….

The design is by far the biggest let down and just is not a sexy as the pure aluminium ones.. now would be a good time to buy up a old style one for dirt cheep??

I upgraded my memory for £60 and its ace… if you need a couple of 1 gb chips then im selling them of cheap… but you may already have 2gb…

i think i would consider getting the new hard drive as that’s pretty good..

Leave a Reply

